Monthly and period calculations
Per-person monthly costs are added to one-twelfth of annual costs. The period living cost is the monthly amount multiplied by selected months; intermediate steps are not rounded before display.
A shared household amount is divided by people only when entered as a household total. A source amount stated per person is not divided again.
Keep ranges intact
Low, mid, and high are personal spending scenarios, not population averages or confidence intervals. If a midpoint is used from a source range, it is only a mathematical midpoint.
Lower and upper values are calculated separately. Source summaries with different assumptions are not turned into one definite average.
Missing data is not zero
An empty cost field is not treated as zero. The result is shown as a subtotal of entered items and carries a missing-cost warning; it is not presented as a complete budget.
Invalid or negative numbers, zero people, zero months, and inconsistent lower and upper ranges are rejected.
Data statuses and maintenance
Historical reference, unknown date, sourced value, personal input, derived value, missing information, and needs review are labelled separately. Refreshing an access date without a source change does not change the reference date.
Rent and dorm references use a 30-day review threshold, while official transport tariffs use 90 days. These are maintenance policies, not price-validity guarantees. CPI is not used as a student price or automatic rent update.
Historical reference
İstanbul’da Öğrenci Yaşam Maliyeti Araştırması 2024/2025
İstanbul Planlama Ajansı
- Geographic scope
- Istanbul
- Currency
- TRY / ₺
- Data period
- 2024/25 · June 2024
- Published
- Not specified
- Accessed
- Oct 28, 2026
- Last source check
- Oct 28, 2026
Source rechecked
Scope conditions: İPA’s June 2024 Istanbul study compares a private dorm with a 120 m² 3+1 flat shared by three people. The flat rent of 9,036 TL is per person and must not be divided again. In the private dorm, internet, water, electricity, and gas are included in housing; the 250 TL bill is phone only. The flat’s 1,046 TL bill includes phone, internet, energy, and water.
Source quality describes how clearly a source states its scope and date. It does not guarantee that a price is current or independently verified; read the assumptions separately.: This is a historical 2024/25 reference: a June 2024 price does not become a 2026 price merely because it was accessed in 2026. Annual clothing (5,165 TL) and technology (4,853 TL) values are divided by 12; reported rounding may differ, and the reported total is not forced to match the components.
Read the sourcePublication date unknown
Cost of Living
ODTÜ Uluslararası Öğrenci Ofisi
- Geographic scope
- Ankara
- Currency
- TRY / ₺
- Data period
- 2026
- Published
- Not specified
- Accessed
- Oct 28, 2026
- Last source check
- Oct 28, 2026
Source rechecked
Scope conditions: The Ankara 2026 scope covers university and private dorm prices per person; a three-person flat rent of 35,000–60,000 TL is a household total. Transport is 400–600 TL per student per month. Phone is 400–800 TL and phone only, not all utilities; other missing bills are your own input.
Source quality describes how clearly a source states its scope and date. It does not guarantee that a price is current or independently verified; read the assumptions separately.: The full publication details are unknown. The midpoint is a mathematical midpoint, not a market average. The basic 8,000–15,000 TL summary excludes accommodation and must not be double-counted with its components; the original range and assumptions are not one average.
Read the source